Saturday, 18 September 2010

17th Fish Short Story Prize

Closes: 30th November 2010
Results Announced: 17 March 2011
Judge: Simon Mawer
Online Entries (€20). Postal entries (€25)

The overall winner will receive €3,000, of which €1,000 is for travel to the launch of the Anthology. Second prize is a week at Anam Cara Writers' and Artists' Retreat and €300. Third prize €300.

The Fish Short Story Prize for 2010/2011 is open for entries. We are delighted to announce that Simon Mawer, author of "The Glass Room" (and seven other novels) will judge the prize.
Fish Publishing runs the short story competition each year, the winners of which are published in the annual Fish Anthology.
Roddy Doyle, Colum McCann and Dermot Healy, previously judges of the Fish Short Story Prize, are honorary patrons.
The Fish Short Story Prize welcomes stories on any theme written in English, with a maximum of 5,000 words. The Anthology will be launched during the West Cork Literary Festival, July 2011.
Fish have been running the short story contest since 1995. Publication in the anthology has been a stepping stone for many into successful writing careers.
Go to for submission details.

Simon Mawer is author of eight novels and two non fiction books. His latest novel, The Glass Room, published by Little, Brown in January 2009, was on the Man Booker shortlist. The next one, provisionally entitled Trapeze, is underway...

"Simon Mawer's work is rich with a desire to see through to the core of things."
The Observer

No comments:

Post a Comment